We live in Tennessee. My son got involved in an accident and he does not have car insurance. What will happen to him? He is only 16 years old.
In Tennessee, if you get caught driving without car insurance is considered a a class D misdemeanor. This type of violation comes with a penalty of:
- $100 fine
- suspension of drivers license
In addition to the above penalties, a “STOP” will be placed against the the registration on the car. If proof of car insurance can be shown prior to the court date, your son might be able to dismiss charges, but he will need to submit proof of Financial Responsibility to the Tennessee Financial Responsibility Division before their registration is renewed.
Your son might also be required to file an SR22 form through an insurer if his drivers license are revoked.
Tennessee car insurance law required
- $25,000 Bodily Injury Liability limits of per injured person up to a total of
- $50,000 per accident, and
- $10,000 Property Damage Liability coverage.
This basic coverage is often referred to as 25/50/10 coverage.